Norris wins prestigious motorsport award for 2023 efforts

Lando Norris has been named as the winner of the prestigious Lorenzo Bandini Trophy for 2023 after his stellar Formula 1 season.

Norris claimed sixth in the Drivers’ Championship with a career-best seven podiums, including six second-places as McLaren was able to fight at the front of the field on a regular basis for the first time in Norris’s career.

As such, he has been recognised with the Bandini trophy, named after the one-time Grand Prix winner who was killed after suffering severe burns in an accident at the 1967 Monaco Grand Prix.

The award is not based on results, but how a driver approaches racing as well as their character.

Norris follows on from Kevin Magnussen’s victory in 2022, with World Champions Max Verstappen, Nico Rosberg, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Michael Schumacher, Jenson Button and Jacques Villeneuve all previous winners.

Source link