Hitech sign Aron and Cordeel for 2024 F2 season · RaceFans

The Hitech Formula 2 team have confirmed former Mercedes junior Paul Aron and series Amaury Cordeel will race for them 2024.

Aron will step up into the second-tier series for his first full season, while Cordeel will embark on his third season with a third different team.

It marks an entirely changed lined up for the British-based Hitech outfit, who ran Red Bull juniors Jak Crawford and Isack Hadjar in 2023. Both drivers took a single race victory each, with the pair finishing the season in 13th and 14th in the drivers’ standings, respectively. Crawford will move to DAMS for 2024, with Hadjar joining Pepe Marti at Campos.

Nineteen-year-old Aron finished third in this year’s Formula 3 championship racing with Prema, taking a single victory and three other podium appearances. He also participated in the final F2 round in Abu Dhabi with Trident, finishing 16th in the sprint race and 18th in the feature race.

Cordeel only took two points finishes this season to be classified 20th – three places lower than he finished in his maiden F2 campaign with Van Amersfoort in 2022. Cordeel only has a single top five race finish in his F2 career, but Hitech F2 team manager Clive Hatton said the team was feeling “enthusiastic” about their driver line up for 2024.

“Amaury has two years’ worth of experience in FIA F2,” Hatton said. “Showing a rise in performance in recent rounds, we hope to build on this in post-season testing and into next season.

“Paul proved himself to be a championship contender last year in FIA F3, and the previous two years in Formula Regional European Championship. We are eager to see them both working with the team, performing on track and fighting for victories.”

Aron was a member of the Mercedes junior driver programme for the last two seasons, but his relationship with Mercedes ended at the conclusion of his Formula 3 season.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2024 Formula 2 driver line-up

Team Driver 1 Driver 2
MP Franco Colapinto Dennis Hauger
Carlin TBC TBC
ART Zak O’Sullivan TBC
Prema Andrea Kimi Antonelli TBC
Hitech Paul Aron Amaury Cordeel
DAMS Jak Crawford TBC
Virtuosi Gabriel Bortoleto Kush Maini
PHM by Charouz Joshua Duerksen TBC
Trident TBC TBC
Van Amersfoort TBC TBC
Campos Isack Hadjar Pepe Marti

Formula 2

Browse all Formula 2 articles

Source link