Free Video Downloader

Home favourite Max Verstappen claims record-equalling victory at Dutch Grand Prix

Home favourite Max Verstappen claims a record-equalling ninth straight race victory during a chaotic Dutch Grand Prix.

Max Verstappen has equalled the Formula 1 record for most successive Grand Prix victories by winning his ninth race in a row on his home track.

The world champion avoided most of the chaos behind him in torrential conditions at the Dutch Grand Prix to continue his procession towards a third successive world title.

The triumph sees Verstappen equal the record of nine consecutive Grand Prix victories jointly held by Alberto Ascari and Sebastian Vettel, the latter of whom achieved the feat 10 years ago.

The home favourite, who has now won at Zandvoort Circuit in each of the three years since the race returned to the calendar, was forced to wait for the latest victory to add to his ever-growing tally as the poor conditions led to a red flag towards the end of the race.

However, he went into that stoppage leading the race and held off a short-lived challenge from Fernando Alonso to take the chequered flag, with Alonso finishing in second.

Sergio Perez crossed the line in third but was demoted a place due to a five-second penalty, handing Pierre Gasly his first podium since 2021.

Behind them, Carlos Sainz held off Lewis Hamilton to finish fifth, with the seven-time world champion coming home in sixth.

Sainz was the only Ferrari driver to finish the race, though, with Charles Leclerc being forced to retire after 43 laps due to floor damage.

George Russell also failed to finish after suffering a puncture following the red flag restart, while Zhou Guanyu and Logan Sargeant were the other drivers not to finish.


1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
2. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)
3. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)
4. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
5. Carlos Sainz Jr (Ferrari)
6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
7. Lando Norris (McLaren)
8. Alex Albon (Williams)
9. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)
10. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
11. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
12. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas)
13. Liam Lawson (AlphaTauri)
14. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
15. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
16. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
17. George Russell (Mercedes)
DNF Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)
DNF Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
DNF Logan Sargeant (Williams)

ID:522342:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect6045:

Source link