Free Video Downloader

F1 to make “structural changes” after Abu Dhabi title finale debacle | F1

The F1 Commission met on Monday to discuss what happened at the Yas Marina Circuit and how the race was handled by race director Michael Masi.

New FIA President Mohammed Ben Sulayem, Mercedes boss Toto Wolff and Red Bull’s Christian Horner were the notable attendees. 

The findings are set to be presented to the public shortly.

The FIA also confirmed that there will be three sprint events in 2022 – Imola, Austria and Brazil set to run the format. 

Initially, there had been plans to run six sprint events but due to concerns about the financial cost in relation to the budget cap, this has been kept to three – as was the case in 2021.

In another change, the top eight finishers will be awarded points.

The new points system will be as followed: 8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1.

Additionally, the accolade for pole position will be awarded to the quickest driver in conventional qualifying rather than the winner of the sprint.

F1 has also altered its regulations following the cut-short Belgian Grand Prix.

The race at Spa-Francorchamps in 2021 was not able to run any proper racing laps, with the two laps completed set behind the Safety Car.

The two laps completed meant half points could be awarded – leading to widespread criticism from fans.

As a result of the earlier meeting, it was agreed that two laps – under green flag conditions – must be completed for a result to be declared.

The FIA has also altered the points system for shortened grands prix.

The altered points systems are as followed:

For races between two laps and 25 per cent scheduled distance only the top five will be given points: 6-4-3-2-1.

For races between 25 per cent but under 50 per cent points will be given to the top nine: 13-10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1

For races between 50 per cent but under 75 per cent points will be given to the top 10: 19-14-12-9-8-6-5-3-2-1.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twenty seven  ⁄    =  nine